Skip to product information
1 of 2

Piano Safari

Circus Sonatinas Chee-Hwa Tan 1470612437

Circus Sonatinas Chee-Hwa Tan 1470612437

Regular price £7.95 GBP
Regular price £7.95 GBP Sale price £7.95 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Composed by Chee-Hwa Tan, Circus Sonatinas is a collection of two colorful Sonatinas with three movements each.

Product Information: 16 pages. Late Elementary Level.

Composed at the late elementary level, Circus Sonatinas contains two Sonatinas with three movements each.

The Sonatinas are as follows:

Circus Sonatina

  • Ringmaster’s Parade

  • The Flying Trapeze (for the very brave…)

  • Black Bear Boogie

Big-Top Sonatina

  • Clown Capers

  • Those Amazing Elephants!

  • Ferocious Lions (jump through the flames…)

A note from the composer:

“The sonatina form is explored via the imagery of the circus. It is my hope that this will allow students to use their imagination in expressing the contrasting musical themes that occur in the sonatina. All this can be vividly related to the characters and activity in the circus ring. Metronome markings are primarily suggestions and should not hinder young pianists in their interpretation and exploration of the piano’s many sounds and colors.”

Chee-Hwa Tan has a passion for nurturing the art and love of music making in pianists of all ages and levels. Her compositions encourage students to explore and express sound images at the piano while developing specific technical skills necessary for artistic playing.

Currently the Head of Piano Pedagogy at the University of Denver Lamont School of Music, Ms. Tan teaches both graduate and undergraduate piano pedagogy. She is a specialist in curriculum development for pre-college piano and class piano teaching and has served on the piano pedagogy faculties at the Oberlin Conservatory and Southern Methodist University. Over the years, her students have distinguished themselves as performers, teachers, and life long music makers.

ISBN-10: 1470612437

ISBN-13: 9781470612436

View full details